IDEA is a not-for-profit professional association for organizations in the Game and Event Presentation industry that is governed by an elected Executive Board with day-to-day operations conducted by office staff. The Standing Committees direct and make recommendations to the Board about the various segments of IDEA which they oversee. Members are encouraged to be active in the direction of IDEA by participating on one of the various committees or running for elected office.

Inspired by the passion of Jeff Schmahl, who mentored so much young talent during his career.Nominations for the 2024 Inspire the Passion Award will be accepted from December 1 – January 31

Inspire The Passion
Established in 2014, the IDEA Inspire the Passion Award honors outstanding students/interns in the event presentation industry. Upon nomination from a supervising IDEA member, the nominees are eligible to apply for the highly selective Inspire the Passion Award.
Award recipients receive an all-expenses paid trip to the annual IDEA Conference.
The IDEA Inspire the Passion Award Committee, under the direction of the IDEA Executive Board, is charged with oversight of the nominations and selection process.

Elizaveta Maslovskaya, OKC Thunder

Miguel Vasques, Philadelphia Flyers

Due to the COVID19 pandemic there was no Inspire the Passion competition held.

  • Deirdre Logan, Washington Nationals
  • Alexa McGlade, University of Central Florida
  • Luke Gagnon, Detroit Red Wings
  • Justin Ott, Philadelphia Flyers
  • Aungelina Taglia, Sporting KC & KU
  • Matthew Massarelli, Philadelphia Flyers
  • Kody Acevedo, Arizona Diamondbacks
  • Kaitlin Cook, Denver Broncos
  • Nick Bruner, University of Cincinnati
  • Danielle Cardona, Philadelphia Union
  • Nate Hogan, Brigham Young University
  • Danielle Eurich, Arizona Diamondbacks
  • Arianna Krizek, Philadelphia Phillies
  • Courtney Brown, Oklahoma State University
  • Evan McInnis, St. Louis Rams


  • December 1 – January 31: Nominations Open
  • January 1 – February 28: Applications Accepted
  • March 1 – April 30: Committee Review
  • May 1 – 4: Applicants Contacted
  • May 5: Winners Announced